Happy Ides
Mar. 15th, 2026 07:59 pmRaffles and Bunny celebrate their anniversary at the opera.
References to 'Va tacito e nascosto' - 'Go silently and stealthily' from Guilio Cesare by Handel. Shifting POV.
( Read more... )
Reading. I continue to work my way through the She's A Beast archives, to a degree that is not necessarily ... uh ... optimal, in terms of all the other things I want to do...
I slowed down on LIFTOFF, on account of resuming reading from the start with A, and then this evening I tripped and fell and am. More. of the way through it. again.
Finished What Is Queer Food? by John Birdsall. Ultimately the argument is that the queerness is a function of community -- the role that food plays in eating together -- though he also tries at various points for "enjoying food is queer" (among other things), which I do not think I am the target audience for. (Having said which I am now wondering what it would take to convince me of that line of reasoning, and Ideas Are Stirring. Hmm.) Overall a mixture of anecdotes from culinary history and fiction to fill in events that went unrecorded; he does hold space for people to be complex and flawed, and I appreciated the history that was actually history, but -- alas, this did not really work for me.
Writing. Words. Continue. To be. Eked out.
Watching. The 2026 Migraine World Summit is ongoing and eating a lot of my time and brain; thus far nothing has made me actually vibrate with fury and I've had a couple of useful joining-the-dots moments, so mustn't grumble there, really. And I have finally watched the talks from last year's Day 2 that I missed due to time changes, and have started transferring my digital notes from last year into my notebook...
Playing. Inkulinati: we continue Not Dead Yet in the Exploders run on Master difficulty.
Sudoku... appears to have let go of my brain for now?
Cooking. This evening I have been attempting to remember how to make Spätzle, and got there eventually (part of the difficulty being that this is the first time I've made them since acquiring a dedicated Spätzlebrett, and I needed to reestablish correct consistency of the dough...)
Eating. This morning we engaged in a Weekend Morning Ritual of going down to the local fancy bakery and getting brunch from them. We also got Treats for Afternoon Tea; I am delighted that they'll supply me with cardamom buns that I don't have to actually make myself.
I have also been Craving Brownies, but not enough to actually make them myself (and also The Oven Is Broken), and consequently have eaten them courtesy of both Wagamama (ritual Thursday night takeaway) and London Zoo (Saturday afternoon tea).
Exploring. London Zoo! Saw creatures! Maybe I will even go back and edit in more details about the creatures! Creatures: good.
Several bimbles around local front gardens (etc) to enjoy Spring Flowers.
Growing. Harvested (and consumed!) more salad. Transplanted some garlic. Wrangled some more weeding. Have yet to sow any more things but really want to have Actual Plants this growing season so, uh, maybe that can be a priority for Breaks From Migraine World Summit, not that that's worked so far...
Observing. THE BAT.
And then for brunch this morning we took our breakfast slightly further than usual to a different park bench, this one surrounded by daffodils, and then additionally wandered a little way down the New River (neither new, nor a river) to see if the coots were doing things yet (which I have also been checking every time I go to the pharmacy to pick up meds). The coots aren't, BUT there were TEN EGYPTIAN GOSLINGS peeping about the place!!! At least one of whom was Extremely keen on coming All the way down the bank and plapping along the edge of the bricks, presumably because they were warm and felt nice on feet? Certainly two very gentle attempts to chase it back towards its parents got them contemplating hissing at me, and only persuaded it to maybe do the thing for about thirty seconds at most, so I gave up on that and just stood back and watched them for a bit, and then was very relieved that the foolhardy baby did upon parents Alarm Calling (as best we can tell about A Passing Dog) go FWEEP FWEEP FWEEP all the way back up and into the bundle of its siblings. An unexpected and very welcome delight.
On the bright side of things, I'm pretty sure the walls are finally DONE. I'll take another look in the daylight, since I did to a couple of small fixes (and a sand) this evening, but I think they're done now. Hopefully.
On the other hand, today has been A Fucking Day, omfg.
Started off with this morning thinking I'll do a quick coat of one of the walls while the cats were eating breakfast. Had to add some more paint to the tray, but whatever that happens.
And then I somehow fucking broke the tray. Split it up the middle! Luckily not the whole way, most of the deep part was okay, but holy shit there was a VERY FRANTIC session of painting fucking ALL THE WALLS to get the paint out of the tray and NOT on the floor. I did okay at that, I think? Spill was pretty minimal, considering. But yeah, all the walls, including some of the upper walls, just in the middle but... yeah. Paint!!!
This was of course all before fucking breakfast for me. Ugh.
And then! This afternoon! I was playing Terraria with everyone, which was nice, and Sushi was whining about food (despite it being like. 45min until kittydinnertime at that point), and he decided he was going to bite my monitor in protest of the extremely unfair "dinner is the same time every day, beanboy" position I took. First couple of times it was just him being a dick as usual, and I shooed him off, but then! He fucking BIT THROUGH AND CRACKED THE SCREEN.
Yeah.
Monitor is dead, it'll turn on, and show picture for a second or so, and then black screen. Nothin'. Soooo gonna have to get a new goddamn monitor. I'm using my old one right now, and ugh. It works but it's nowhere near as nice. ;;
I also broke the handle of an old rusty paint scraper I've been using to clean paint trays, but that's no big deal. Amusing that the handle broke down first, honestly. But given the day's track record I absolutely did not do any real cooking, or anything else that involved things I cannot deal without because woooow. What a fucking day.
Bed now! Tomorrow will probably be better! Or at least less full of paint, bleh. Though if I am done with the walls that does mean I'm back to cleaning/sanding/filling again, nooooo...
highlights included:
otherwise everything is still Migraine World Summit (though I have once again learned a useful thing today! neck pain can be a prodrome symptom!) and Special Interest.
Very tired day again. Annoying!
What's also annoying is that I found a goddamn zucchini literally the size of my forearm - I really REALLY wish that was an exaggeration but I went to the extent of taking a picture of them side by side to compare, and no. It is forearm sized - this morning, so I was all 'yup, GOTTA buy more cocoa', but I checked my bank account and I don't have enough to order a bulk amount and won't until probably Friday. Ugh. So I just got some at the supermarket, which is annoying but I had to go and get milk anyway so at least there's that. Gotta wash the pans before making more bread, though. >>;;; Fuck I hate doing dishes.
I did, however, have a goddamn brainwave, and moved one of the nice comfy chairs from its usual spot looking at the tv, so it instead looks out the window, and consequentially gets the good afternoon sun :3 :3 :3 So I flopped out on that with it extended all the way back and dozed for half an hour or so this afternoon, A++ will do again. (Though of course Sushi wanted to play underneath it while I was moving it, so that was a bit nerve wracking... sigh. Cats.)
Got a coat done on the walls, plus a little bit of rollering on the upper walls, since they were a bit blotchy still. Probably gonna need a third coat at least, maybe more in some places, but have to wait for it to properly dry to be able to tell and then I was just. Very sleepy. So I am going to bed now yes.
the on-and-off mlp drama between the channers and everyone else is complicated and simple at the same time. it’s not even unique to a 15 year old cartoon lol
1. g4 unfortunately catching the attention of 4chan was why it became popular. /co/ and later /mlp/ built the early foundations and spread it to other platforms before more people caught onto it
2. that being said, spaces grow and evolve, for better or for worse. you can’t project your worldview onto a big tent just like they can’t do that to you
3. you will also sound insane for trying to claim apolitical memes as dogwhistles (ex. the mares chant, snowpity or anonfilly) while not being able to explain why
4. but if your site’s culture is known for being aggressive and offensive, that’s going to put most people off and dislike you
5. the lasting consequences of the ye old tumblrpon war between the libfems and MRAs 13 years ago. you have one side that is “wholesome” but prone to canceling people or moving goal posts (ex. “molestia normalizes rape culture but 50 shades is totally fine”), versus… trolls and racists who have gotten worse post-/pol/ and will also harass people. horseshoe moment 🥁
6. which unfortunately turns into a recruitment tactic. if the inclusive “good guys” are incredibly toxic, why bother being a good guy? /mlp/ are the ones organizing or helping with social events and running websites, and you won’t be canceled for making an off color joke or an opinion. i actually like /mlp/ more when it isn’t racist lol
7. at the same time, /mlp/’s overly permissive culture turns their spaces into a nazi bar. see: aryanne, twitter, /mlpol/, the infamous mare fair photos. that’s the toxic side of “true” tolerance
8. BUT - would designating the people who aren’t complete psychos in that echo chamber and not exposing them to “outsiders” make things worse? what do we do?
the issue is choosing between social surveillance and having no standards. there’s a solution but nobody is going to like or do it. so this will go on.
I hadn't been on the ice since last Saturday (Huskies and Women's Blues practices were all Varsity squads only, and Kodiaks practice got cancelled by the rink) but I made it to and through Warbirds practice tonight. It was so worth it. I also got my Varsity notebook from Women's Blues: every team member gets a notebook, and everyone writes a note in every teammate's notebook, and we read them before Varsity to inspire us. Mine was very sweet and I love the team very much for making me welcome.
I need to leave the house in 7.5 hours to get back to the rink for Varsity. I'm playing in alumni game 1, getting cleaned up during alumni game 2, and spending the rest of the day in the scorekeepers box with a rotating cast of some of my favourite people. The three non-alumni games will be livestreamed
I also had a little art session this evening before going to the rink, making signs for my Huskies teammates. The sign in Irish may well only be understood by the teammate who got me back into learning Irish this year - our class covered "how to cheer on your sports team" a couple weeks ago and I made careful notes - or maybe it will cause any lurking Gaeilgeoirí in the rink to make themselves known.
I think I'm wound down enough to sleep now.
In apparent celebration of Migraine World Summit, I have spent this evening having an unscheduled migraine attack for no obvious reason. I disapprove. (Because I've been doing a lot of audiovisual processing, captions notwithstanding? Because I had my screen much brighter than usual for a while playing a colours game?* Because oven't?)
Nonetheless I have watched and made digital notes on all of 2026 Day 2, watched and made digital notes on 3/4 talks from 2025 Day 2 (which I missed at the time), and made physical notes for 2025 Day 1 and 1/4 of Day 2. I am... sort of catching up.
I am really enjoying my pens. I also find myself with the problem of wanting lots of different notebooks and, also, to keep everything in One Single Solitary Notebook, For Convenience...
* NB I am a rocks nerd. My colour discrimination is ludicrously good. I am sorry that that link is weird and competitive about my ridiculous score, but not sorry enough to provide you with the bare link.