Views & News: Pearly whites edition

Mar. 10th, 2026 05:43 pm
stonepicnicking_okapi: ChopSuey (chopsuey)
[personal profile] stonepicnicking_okapi
1. Survived my dentist appointment today. I also did a good bit of spring cleaning and went to the lake to run. The boys' father went into the office so I had the house to myself for a few hours which was nice.

2. Only one client today as Air force guy had chemo today. And they took my Alzheimer's lady off for scheduling reasons and this is my last week with Air Force guy before he moves out of my radius so next week, I will be down to 10 hours (instead of 26-30). For a few days it will be nice to catch up on things. Then I will start wanting more.

3. Saturday morning Minor and I are going to volunteer at the Music Boosters Flea Market. Few things I'd rather do less on a Saturday morning.

4. I am going to get the Netflix sometime this weekend (though I do not like subscriptions) because BTS is having their comeback concert next Saturday (21) on it at 7 am my time.

5. Minisculus turns 11 on the 26th so I am getting his birthday gifts and cake prep stuff together.

6. I did update my soap opera for SUGA's birthday and it turns out that putting off stuff and getting that done did lift my spirits and make me feel good so that was the right choice. Sometimes I have trouble telling what is actually going to be the right sacrifice to make.

My new favorite Youtube channel is Sister Minnie, the Islamic cat.

tyger: Personalised image-manip of a Rogue of Light.  (Homestuck) (Rogue of Light)
[personal profile] tyger

Made more zucchini bread today, and I'm running out of ingredients AGAIN and aaaaaaargh. EXTREMELY tempted to just do a bulk order for the stuff I can get from the one shop near A's place. Can't do much about yoghurt, and I don't want to have to buy eggs, but everything else is kind of. Why. Why must I keep buying them all the freaking time. Bleh!!!

I harvested another four zucchini today, two of which aren't as huge as some I've had but are at least twice as big as I've been trying to pick them - how the fuck do they hide like this, I have no idea - so I probably have at least one more batch of bread from that by itself. I still have another batch's worth of shredded in the fridge!!! Mama is just. Not allowed to plant zucchini when she's not going to be here to actually eat it again. No. It is way too much for one person, damnit!

Other than that, did a lot less painting than I wanted, because holy shit it was humid as FUCK today, and the two sessions I did before nightfall resulted in me having to go pass out for a couple of hours. Dear humidity: plz die. (Just checked, and it's currently over 80%. No fucking wonder I wilted.)

I also cleaned the kitchen a LOT, which is a thing I've been putting off for. A while. >>;; Still have some dishes to do, but at least the sink has been scrubbed now...

Naptime now, yes!

Linux Progress: backups

Mar. 10th, 2026 08:18 am
arlie: (Default)
[personal profile] arlie
Last night I officially gave up on linux backup software and modified one of my existing backup-by-rsync scripts to backup my user account on the linux system to its new external drive. I took [personal profile] ravan's suggestion of adding the -delete argument to the rsync command; this should reduce the incidental duplication and reduplication of moved files.

As I went to bed, my first backup was still running. Subsequent ones will be much faster.

When I'm happy with the results, I'll remove the -v argument and substitute -q, then arrange to run the script from cron.

I'm a bit concerned that on a system with no local mail service, there will be no effective way to learn about errors from the cron job. I may have to install a rudimentary mail server just to get emails from cron sent somewhere where I'll see them. (Maybe some of the full fledged backup systems handle notifications via the system's notification manager, but I doubt it.)

Overall, I'm very disappointed with the offerings. There were far too many missing features, lots of missing or broken documentation, and one feature I didn't want - extra encryption for the backups, on top of any full disk encryption one might have on the receiving media. I don't object to this being available - you'd probably want it if backing up to a different machine - what I object to is making it mandatory (restic), or broken documentation that should have told me what encryption scheme to use to have no encryption (borg).

Deduplication would have been nice, given the mess I have from prior non-use of -delete in rsync-mediated backups. Also because it would save a lot of backup time when I move big chunks of data to new locations in the file system. But I need to clean up that mess anyway, and with an rsync backup I can do the same 'mv' within the backup files as I'm doing within the source files, thereby avoiding a stupid copy-to-new-location and delete-at-old-location.
arlie: (Default)
[personal profile] arlie
I've been using the AP as my source of US news headlines. I started with its daily email summary, which was actually one of a pair - morning and evening - and they presumed all readers subscribed to both. I didn't want twice-a-day news, but also didn't want to get stories framed as extra details/reaction to some story I'd never seen. Since my main reason for following daily new was to know about unicorn events that I might need to act on, I subscribed to their breaking news alerts, but never got around to unsubscribing from their morning summary.

My main news source is the Guardian. I pay them. The household also has paid subscriptions to local paper(s) that basically don't do national or international news.

This morning I clicked on the "read more" link in one of the AP emails, and got a spam wall - a requirement of a "free account" to continue reading. AP already knows my email, and IIRC they've bombarded me with unwanted extras - mostly ads for other newsletters - every time I've subscribed to one of them. Their "free" account will presumably involve more of the same, plus collecting and selling the details of what I click on - though frankly I'm surprised they aren't already doing that, via extra arguments to the links in their email newsletters.

I haven't decided yet whether I'll respond not by signing up, but by deleting my existing free email subscriptions.

Yes, I get it that they would like to be paid, and this is a step towards getting money from free readers like me. Moreover, they have a perfect right to refuse to provide a free service. But OTOH, their daily summary emails are a very poor imitation of what I'd prefer to be reading. To be suitable, they'd need to include breaking news that turned up between e.g. midnight my time and 6 AM my time, and *not* presume I'd already read their afternoon news email summary. I'm not eager to pay for service this bad, not even in wasted time.

I could, of course, create an account using an email alias, and deactivate that alias once confirmed, to avoid the expected flood of ads for other services. But they'll probably require me to use that email to login, and the gods alone know whether their login screen will play nicely enough with my password safe that I won't need to memorize my login ID.

I'll decide when I'm more awake, since I'm almost always at my grumpiest pre-coffee and pre-breakfast.

Meanwhile, I wonder how long they've had this spam wall, but I didn't notice because I didn't click on any of their stories.

[Edited to add: the Guardian seems to have mostly equivalent email subscriptions available. These may be the best available answer to AP's new feature.]

[Update: it seemed that I could click on AP break news alerts and see the underlying story, but not on links from their morning summary email. So I thought I might keep the alerts, for now, and drop the morning summary. But then I found that it's not that simpler - this evening I can follow links from the morning summary.]

3 good things today

Mar. 10th, 2026 11:40 am
tozka: (spring comes)
[personal profile] tozka
1. re:remembering your dreams: I finally had a weird enough one last night that it stuck with me upon waking up, and I managed to write most of it down. The highlights is me driving a manual car IN ENGLAND and somehow not managing to crash, and also re-obtaining various belongings which had been stolen.

As far as I can tell, most of the dreams I manage to remember have similar themes of either people stealing my stuff or me driving and mostly not crashing into things, sometimes with an added bonus of people barging into my rooms before or after the theft/driving activities. I'm not sure what the point is but at least I've stopped dreaming about missing classes/exams in high school.

2. Had to change my train ticket to my next sit, and went through a very annoying process with the train company; basically you have to prove that you a) bought a new ticket and b) tore up the old one-- well mine was an electronic ticket so I struggled a bit there but got it sent in eventually. Once sent, they take a few days to consider whether you deserve a refund or not, and whether they're going to take a fee out or not. Well! My refund was approved after a few days and I'm waiting for it to be deposited. And no fee taken out, either.

3. I can see a seagull sitting on a neighboring roof's chimney from my attic room window, and there's a very funny fight with another seagull trying to knock the first one off so it can sit there instead. I love birds!

Weekly Goals 2026: 11

Mar. 9th, 2026 06:46 pm
cyberneticdryad: An anthropomorphic white rabbit with long, dark teal hair.  They wear a pastel pink dress with a lighter teal shawl and hold a wooden bobbin of thread. (Default)
[personal profile] cyberneticdryad
I was not brave, I did not start my sock heel. But it's a new week, I am in less pain, and the weather will be wet and cold, so I know I will want to be indoors more for crafty things! Also, haven't considered the way body pain impacts my creativity, but I think it might be time to. I don't think I did much of anything creative last week...

In other news, my manager is getting tested for hypermobility, and we've chatted about body things so she brought it up in relation to me and I... It might explain some things. Like the knee dislocation/sprain that I had a few years ago (and couldn't afford to see a doctor about at the time). And being so flexible without ever actually feeling stretched. I fit a lot of the criteria, and it is definitely something I'd like to talk to a doctor about (whenever I manage to find one who is actually accepting new patients and accepts my insurance). I was already trying to focus my exercise stuff on building stability so I can get back to running when the weather gets warmer, but I may need to pivot a little more to make sure I'm protecting my joints and ligaments a little better.

Routine
  • GYWO: Write 20 minutes 0/4
  • Exercise: 3/2
  • Bullet journal: 7/7


Tasks
  • Sock knitting: Start heel
  • Northern lights rolags: Spin 20/20 minutes
  • Return CDs to EV library
  • Set up optometrist appointments!


Delaying
  • Steam finished handspun
  • Plan Calad shirt modifications
  • Hem curtains
  • Plan Ren Faire outfit?

Profile

unclutter: pairs of antique shoes (Default)
uncluttering one day and one thing at a time

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011 121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:42 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios